Racing driver by heart

Maximilian
Götz

  • Date of birth: 04.02.1986
  • Based in: Uffenheim, Germany
  • Nationality: German
51. ADAC TotalEnergies 24h Nürburgring 2023 - Foto: Gruppe C Photography

My day-to-day business

Driving in circles. Fast.

Motorsport is my home, the Mercedes AMG GT3 is my "best friend" and the racetracks of this world are my playground." 
– Maximilan Götz

Favorite racetrack?
There can be only one: Norschleife
Any pre-race ritual?
Getting up in the morning with the right foot, the gas foot
Describe yourself in three words:
Positive, humorous and a family guy

Success

#MaximumAttack

Starts
Victories
Podiums

My road to success

A professional
for over 20 years.

How it all began: As with most top-level racing drivers, the Franconian's motorsport career began in karting. Götz first attracted attention on a wider scale in Formula BMW, in which he followed up his runner-up finish in 2002 behind the future Formula 1 world champion Nico Rosberg with the title win a year later - and did so with aplomb ahead of a certain Sebastian Vettel. His promotion to the Formula 3 Euro Series was followed by difficult times with several teams. It was not until his one-off guest appearance in the top racing team ASM at the 2005 season finale as a replacement for Adrian Sutil that Götz was able to demonstrate his high potential by finishing third.

His career really took off after switching to GT racing, which he did in 2009. In 2012, Max won the ADAC GT Masters together with Sebastian Asch and celebrated his first international success in 2014 by winning the Blancpain GT Sprint Series. This was followed by his promotion to the DTM as a Mercedes works driver, which he contested in 2015 and 2016, and his return to the Mercedes-AMG GT3 and Team HTP Motorsport, which later became WINWARD Racing became. In 2021, Maximilian Götz celebrated the greatest success of his racing career to date by winning the DTM title in a highly dramatic finale at the Norisring. More to come...

my belief in myself

DTM Champion 2021

In 2021, Maximilian Götz achieved what remains a dream for many - winning the DTM championship. With a breathtaking performance, continuous perseverance and an iron fighting spirit, Max, won the title together with the Haupt Racing Team The newly formed team had started the season as underdogs and, thanks to its tireless commitment, was able to triumph in the end.

Winning the 2021 title is not only a milestone in Max's career, but also proof that dreams can come true if you are prepared to give your all at all times. This title is a tribute to passion.

Play Video

FAQ

Max, go ahead...

*I'd be lying if I counted them, but there must be 50 pairs of glasses. It's my trademark, after all. Of course, thanks to my partner Maybach I'm always perfectly equipped. Not just in terms of design, but also with special functions, such as the fact that my racing glasses fit perfectly under my helmet and the lenses don't mist up.

*300 SL Mercedes-Benz Flügeltürer. The car was ahead of its time and still sets standards today in terms of design, tradition and driving pleasure. For me, it is one of the most beautiful cars ever built. And of course my current racing car, the AMG GT3 Evo.

I would definitely stay true to (my) cockpit and work as a pilot between heaven and earth in a super-fast airplane. Moreover, being a firefighter is a special job because helping people in need gives you so much in return. I can rightly say that, because I'm involved as an active firefighter in the Freiwilligen Feuerwehr Uffenheim But my dream job is and remains to be a racing driver.

MY ROOTS

A kid with a dream.

VOLLBLUT RENNFAHRER AUS LEIDENSCHAFT

Maximilian
Götz

  • Geburtstag: 04.02.1986
  • Wohnort: Uffenheim, Bayern
  • Nationalität: Deutsch
20240320_DriverKickoff_NSB _0153_

Was ich mache

Driving in circles. Fast.

„Der Motorsport ist mein Zuhause, der Mercedes AMG GT3 mein „Steckenpferd“ und die Rennstrecken dieser Welt mein Spielplatz.“ 
– Maximilan Götz

Lieblings-Rennstrecke?
Nordschleife - natürlich
Ritual vor dem Rennen?
Am Morgen mit dem rechten Fuß, also dem Gas-Fuß, aufstehen
Du in drei Worten?
Positiv, humorvoll und ein Familienmensch

Erfolge.

#MaximumAttack

Starts
Siege
Podiums

MEIN WEG ZUM ERFOLG

A professional
for over 20 years.

Wie alles begann: Wie bei den meisten Rennfahrern auf Top-Niveau startete die Motorsport-Karriere des Franken im Kart. Erstmals auf breiterer Ebene auf sich aufmerksam machte Götz in der Formel BMW, in der er der Vizemeisterschaft 2002 hinter dem späteren Formel-1-Weltmeister Nico Rosberg ein Jahr später den Titelgewinn folgen ließ – und dies souverän vor einem gewissen Sebastian Vettel. Nach seinem Aufstieg in die Formel-3-Euroserie folgten schwierige Zeiten bei mehreren Teams. Erst bei seinem einmaligen Gastspiel im Toprennstall ASM beim Saisonfinale 2005 als Ersatz für Adrian Sutil konnte Götz mit Rang 3 sein hohes Potenzial demonstrieren.

Richtig Fahrt nahm seine Karriere nach dem Wechsel in den GT-Sport auf, den er 2009 vollzog. 2012 gewann Max gemeinsam mit Sebastian Asch das ADAC GT Masters und feierte 2014 mit dem Gewinn der Blancpain GT Sprint Series seinen ersten internationalen Erfolg. Es folgten der Aufstieg als Mercedes-Werkspilot in die DTM, die er 2015 und 2016 bestritt, und die Rückkehr in den Mercedes-AMG GT3 und das Team HTP Motorsport, aus dem später WINWARD Racing hervorging. Im Jahr 2021 feierte Maximilian Götz in einem hochdramatischen Finale auf dem Norisring mit dem DTM-Titelgewinn den größten Erfolg seiner bisherigen Rennkarriere. More to come…

WORAN ICH IMMER GEGLAUBT HABE

DTM Champion 2021

Im Jahr 2021 gelang Maximilian Götz, was für viele ein Traum bleibt – der Gewinn der DTM-Meisterschaft. Mit einer atemberaubenden Leistung, kontinuierlicher Beharrlichkeit und eisernen Kämpfergeist erzielte Max gemeinsam mit dem Haupt Racing Team den begehrten Titel. Das neu geformte Team war als Underdogs in Saison gestartet und konnte dank seines unermüdlichen Engagements am Ende trimumphieren.

Der Titelgewinn von 2021 ist nicht nur ein Meilenstein in der Karriere von Max, sondern auch ein Beweis dafür, dass Träume wahr werden können, wenn man bereit ist, immer alles zu geben. Dieser Titel ist ein Tribut an die Leidenschaft.

Video abspielen

FAQ

Max, erzähl mal...

*Ich würde lügen, wenn ich sie gezählt hätte, aber 50 Brillen sind es bestimmt. Ist schließlich mein Markenzeichen. Natürlich bin ich auch dank meinem Partner Maybach immer bestens ausgestattet. Nicht nur was das Design betrifft, sondern auch mit besonderen Funktionen, wie z.B. dass meine Rennbrille optimal unter den Helm passt und die Gläser nicht beschlagen.

*300 SL Mercedes-Benz Flügeltürer. Das Auto war zur damaligen Zeit seiner Zeit voraus und setzt auch heute noch Maßstäbe in puncto Design, Tradition und Fahrspaß. Für mich ist es eines der schönsten Autos, die jemals gebaut wurden. Und natürlich mein aktuelles Rennauto, der AMG GT3 Evo.

*Ich würde auf jeden Fall (m)einem Cockpit treu bleiben und als Pilot zwischen Himmel und Erde in einem superschnellen Flugzeug arbeiten. Außerdem ist der Beruf als Feuerwehrmann besonders, weil es einem unheimlich viel zurückgibt Menschen in Not zu helfen. Das kann ich zu Recht behaupten, weil ich mich als aktiver Feuerwehrmann in der Freiwilligen Feuerwehr Uffenheim engagiere. Aber mein Traumjob ist und bleibt es Rennfahrer zu sein.

MY ROOTS

A kid with a dream.